Quick Answer: Which Province Is Colombo, Sri Lanka?

What are the district in Western Province?

The western province consists of three districts: Colombo, Gampaha, and Kalutara. Colombo District is 642 km2 in area and its main city is Colombo. The other popular and important cities in the district are Dehiwala, Nugegoda, Maharagama, Homagama, Avissawella and Moratuwa.

Which is the state region of Sri Lanka?

Sri Lanka is an island country in the Indian Ocean. It lies just 30 kilometres south-east of India. It has mountains in the south-central region.

What is the religion of Sri Lanka?

Buddhism is the largest religion of Sri Lanka with 70.2% of the population practicing the religion; then, there are Hindus with 12.6%; Muslims with 9.7% and Christians with 7.4%. The census indicates that most Muslims are Sunni while the Christians are mainly Roman Catholic.

What is the largest province in Sri Lanka?

The majority of the population in the province is Sinhalese. The largest province of Sri Lanka, located in the dry zone being 10,714 km2 in extent, the North Central Province that consists of two administrative districts viz.

You might be interested:  What Religion Is In Sri Lanka In Asia?

What is the flower of Western Province in Sri Lanka?

Lotus flower, the national flower of Sri Lanka – Picture of Colombo, Western Province – Tripadvisor.

Does Sri Lanka have states?

Five provinces were created, later expanded into nine, and these were subdivided into twenty-one districts. The last district to be created was Kilinochchi in February 1984, and the current constitution (that of 1978) states that the territory of Sri Lanka consists of 25 administrative districts.

Is Negombo under Western Province?

Negombo (Sinhala: මීගමුව, romanized: Mīgamuva, Tamil: நீர்கொழும்பு, romanized: Nīrkoḻumpu) is a major city in Sri Lanka, situated on the west coast and at the mouth of the Negombo Lagoon, in Western Province, 38 km from Colombo via Colombo – Katunayake Expressway.

How many districts are in Western Province?

Western Province is divided into sixteen districts, namely, Kalabo District, Kaoma District, Limulunga District, Luampa District, Lukulu District, Mitete District, Mongu District, Mulobezi District, Mwandi District, Nalolo District, Nkeyema District, Senanga District, Sesheke District, Shangombo District, Sikongo

Why Sri Lanka is not part of India?

Sri Lanka was a separate crown colony from the British Raj since the end of the 18th century. Sri Lanka and Burma became seperately independent from India because they had become separate colonies.

What was old name of Sri Lanka?

Sri Lanka’s government has decided to change the names of all state institutions still bearing the nation’s former British colonial name, Ceylon. The government wants the country’s modern name to be used instead. The decision comes 39 years after the country was renamed Sri Lanka.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: How To Apply For Miss Sri Lanka?

What is the language of Sri Lanka?

Sinhalese language, also spelled Singhalese or Cingalese, also called Sinhala, Indo-Aryan language, one of the two official languages of Sri Lanka.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *